Ch.30: City of Oplontis

The Oplontis excavations are at the heart of the modern town of Torre Annunziata (Naples 20 km).
 The name Oplontis is attested in Tabula Peutingeriana, a medieval copy of an ancient map on existing roads in Italy at the time of the Roman Empire. In it, the place name Oplontis shows some structures positioned between Pompeii and Herculaneum.
 Therefore Oplontis was attributed to a number of archaeological discoveries, which are referred to a suburb of Pompeii: a residential villa, Villa Poppea, and a rustic villa attributed to Lucius Crassius Tertius.

In these houses, next to large bodies of victims of the eruption, we found a large quantity of gold and silver coins, with many pieces of fine jewelry that called at the time the SPA, in the Oncino area called the or, as the archaeologist A. Maiuri surgais the spa  Installing dedicated to the Roman consul Marcus Crassus Frugis.

VILLA of POPPEE

The main monument, unique visitors, is dedicated to the Villa Poppea included among the assets that UNESCO has defined as "World Heritage" grandiose building residential half of the first century BC and enlarged in imperial times, was under restoration in When the eruption of 79 AD.  It is attributed to Poppea, second wife of Emperor Nero, but in any case falling within the heritage of the imperial family.

Atrium (5)
Was the heart of the oldest house in the area (mid first century BC), the main home environment where people have spent most of the day.
 The lobby is kind Tuscan: the ceiling (rebuilt) has a central aperture, compluvium For the rainwater passage collected in a basin below the impluvium.  The ground, a white mosaic, has a polychrome meander around impluvium.  What most strikes the visitor is the decoration of the walls, among the best examples of the Second Pompeian style: between light and shadow, painting details and vibrant colors, the illusion of perspective implies columns, ceilings The views shrines, landscapes, cities, who sees behind the open doors and porches.

Garden ( 20)
The viridarium is a big flower bed, where he cultivated fruit trees, surrounded by a drainage channel terracotta waters.
 On the tiles in the upper part of the walls have been restored to its eaves original boxes terracotta (SIME) With garlands and head drip Silen.  Below is a band with ovals stucco.
 The garden wall decorations to host a black and red, with plants and birds especially in the lower register, in a game of expansion prospects.

Big Room (15)
Probable Hall (oecus) Symposium, is one of the most majestic and elegant environments of the villa, decorated with frescoes and a splendid sea view, once visible and closer today.
 The floor mosaic in white fabric has a black stripe along the walls and insertion of polychrome marble tiles.
 The frescoes, beautiful performance and sober chromaticism accentuate the illusion of expanding the real size of the room.

Triclinium ( 14)
The large dining room and sumptuous beds confirmed the walls on which we have to eat their meal, and the center of the room was a mess: the floor mosaic, white stands in a sort of vestibule real triclinium the walls are painted in the other style, with columns of foresight, cusps circular temples, closed-door passages, a door beyond which is a garden, maybe a sanctuary.

Kitchen ( 7)
The room, almost black, is paved in cocciopesto: on the north side, is a large office with the support plate, where they cook the food, and three small arcs form a semi-circular slot designed to store firewood.
 On the east side is a circular tank can be used for a liquid discharge on the South side walls had to support two tables for food preparation.

Porticus Garden ( 13)Two symmetrical porches Filet environments for the south of the building.
 The floor has a white mosaic with perpendicular lines and sideband black tiles. The wall is decorated with panels of type IV (median black band socket red, white upper register architectures in perspective and garlands).
The columns are fluted and decorated with white and red and white scales. Les murs entre les colonnes sont Opus craticium , The walls between the columns are Opus craticium, From lightweight masonry consists of wooden frames filled with boulders attracted to Malta.

Cubiculum (amb.11)

The cubicles are the bedrooms and the villa were very good: on the sides of cubiculum represented here are rated niches with barrel vaults, where the beds were housed.  II style paintings with simple and elegant stucco on the walls and ceiling.

Péristyle ( 32)
This has peristyle columns combined with a smooth inner wall in a large flower bed, there is a fountain decorated like the walls inside, a red background with plants and birds.
 The floor is marble with cocciopesto inserts.The ceiling was rebuilt with the support of the vine, as was done in ancient times.
On this peristyle overlooked by various quarters, some of them for domestic: why it was described as "servile."

Péristyle (40)
A large portico with three arms (porticus triplex) Said of a large open space, another viridarium, Secluded garden and contrast with the north of the villa.
 The columns, painted white, are smooth on the bottom, grooved on the top of the frescoed walls are attributed to the IV style.

Corridor ( 46)
Served link between the central core of the villa and pool: Paved cocciopesto has benches along the brick wall and window at the top between Fourth style fresco painted backgrounds.
 Very interesting ceiling, faithfully reconstructed, divided into panels by the beams in the recall rich figurative syntax similar decorations in Domus Aurea Nero in Rome: one can imagine how that environment at that time, in its magnificence, and introduce those rendered at the sight of the large pool.

Corridor ( 46)
Served link between the central core of the villa and pool: Paved cocciopesto has benches along the brick wall and window at the top between Fourth style fresco painted backgrounds.
 Very interesting ceiling, faithfully reconstructed, divided into panels by the beams in the recall rich figurative syntax similar decorations in Domus Aurea Nero in Rome: one can imagine how that environment at that time, in its magnificence, and introduce those rendered at the sight of the large pool.

Salon ( 21)
This large room, probably a room for lunch, north arcade breaks the villa is a kind of body advanced to the garden.
The oecos, built along the porch to a construction later the oldest nucleus of the atrium, perhaps in the time of Augustus, in the form of propylon, with two large fluted columns and covered with plaster White. L'espace entre les colonnes ont dû être fermés par des portes. The space between the columns had to be closed by doors.
 The mosaic floor of the hall is made entirely of fabric striped white and black double on the side, with the presence, in the spaces between the columns of stylized plant motifs.
This architectural solution, the highly monumental character, was adopted in the villas of the northern districts of the Empire Villas and model of otium, As shown some wall decorations.

Porches ( 33-34)
The two porches on the north side of the villa, with white plaster columns coated with fine grooves, advanced along the body "oecus (amb.21), creating a grand and monumental state.
At the foot of the columns in the ground, runs the water stream terracotta.  The floor of the arcade is a mosaic with white tiles with black stripe on the side. The mural is in the fourth style: the lower area is a black background decorated with birds and plant pots, the middle zone alternating panels of red and yellow decorations and architectural point of view, the upper band, a white background, has kiosks and walls decorated with the frame.
 In one of these arches were discovered four statues of Centaurs and child statue with duck waiting to be redeposited here.

___________________________________________________

VILLA of LUCIUS CRASSIUS TERTIUS

Discovered by chance in 1974 while we were working on the construction of the middle school gymnasium Parini, the villa is about 300 meters from the villa of Poppea.  Were almost entirely brought to light the main building and part of the building structures and the surrounding streets.  In a first moment was given to this complex the name of Villa B with respect to the first said Villa Poppea;  she found on an uncharted insula of the City of Oplontis, bounded on the North by a road on which open shops that do not communicate with the habitatif complex, and provided living quarters situated on the top floor.  It is believed that the activity of the villa was mainly aimed at the marketing of agricultural products, and not to their production. It was found at the scene a seal on what we believe to recognize the owner's name or manage this thriving commercial enterprise, its name is Lucius Tertius Crassius.

The core of this complex consists of a large open space with gravel and surrounded by an imposing colonnade, a double row of gray clay columns with Doric capitals, dating from the second century.  Was here probably the place of loading for the goods to be sold .. All around, many rooms, was allowing the storage of amphorae for wine, oil, garum and fruit; other materials have was found at the scene, such as balancing weights or fruit for processing and creation of Garum, a flavored wine fruit.

 The upper floor is entirely occupied by the residential area of the owner, which is fairly common with paintings of the fourth style and a schematic example of second style belonging to the first construction phase.  Among the many discoveries, a safe in a wooden structure reinforced with iron plates and strips, ornamented with copper and silver and bronze with a closing complex system, with the front, inlaid letters money, the Greek name manufacturers: Pythonymos, Pytheas and Nikokrates active in the workshop of Heraclides.  In one of the rooms on the south side were the skeletons of several people who had sought refuge at the time of the eruption, carrying mainly coins and jewelry.

Ch.32: La Cité de Oplontis

Carte OPLONTIS

Les fouilles d'Oplontis sont au cœur de la ville moderne de Torre Annunziata (20 km Naples).
Le nom Oplontis n'est attesté que dans Table de Peutinger, copie médiévale d'une carte ancienne sur les routes existantes en Italie à l'époque de l'Empire romain. Dans ce document, le nom du lieu Oplontis montre certaines structures positionné entre Pompéi et d'Herculanum.
Par conséquent Oplontis a été attribuée à un certain nombre de découvertes archéologiques, qui sont en fait référence à une banlieue de Pompéi: une villa résidentielle, la Villa de Poppée,  et une villa rustique attribuée à Lucius Crassius Tertius.

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Dans ces demeures,  à côté de grands corps de victimes de l'éruption, on a trouvé une grande quantité de monnaies en or et argent, avec de nombreuses pièces de bijoux de qualité qu’on appelais à l’époque des SPA , dans le quartier appelé Oncino, la ou, selon l’archéologue A. Maiuri surgais l' iinstallation thermale dédié au consul romain Marcus Crassus Frugis.

qdhqdfhqdfh

LA VILLA DE POPPEE

Le monument principal, visiteur unique, est la villa  dédiée à Poppée inclus parmi les biens que l'UNESCO a défini comme" patrimoine mondial "demi bâtiment grandiose résidence du premier siècle avant JC et agrandi à l'époque impériale, était en cours restauration au moment de l'éruption du 79 après J.C.. Il est attribué à Poppée, Deuxième épouse de l'empereur Néron, mais en tout cas qui entrent dans le patrimoine de la famille impériale.

Plan Villa de Poppée Oplontis
qdhqdfhqdfh

Atrium (5)

Était au coeur de la plus vieille maison de la zone (premier siècle mi C.-B.), le principal environnement de la maison où les habitants ont passé la plupart de la journée.
Le lobby est de type toscan: le plafond (reconstruite) présente une ouverture centrale, la compluvium Pour le passage de l'eau de pluie recueillie dans un bassin en dessous, l 'impluvium . Le sol, une mosaïque de blanc, a un méandre polychromes tout autour 'impluvium . Ce que la plupart frappe le visiteur, c'est la décoration des murs, parmi les meilleurs exemples du style Second pompéien: entre ombres et lumières, de détails de peinture et les couleurs vibrantes, l'illusion de perspective implique des colonnes, des plafonds, les points de vue des sanctuaires, des paysages, des villes, qui entrevoit derrière les portes ouvertes et des porches. 

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Jardin ( 20)

Le viridarium est un grand lit de la fleur, où il cultivait des arbres fruitiers, entouré par un canal d'évacuation des eaux en terre cuite.
Sur le carrelage dans la partie supérieure des murs ont été restaurés à ses avant-toits des boîtes originales en terre cuite (SIME) Avec des guirlandes et de la tête au goutte à goutte Silen. Ci-dessous se trouve une bande avec oves stuc.
Les décorations de mur du jardin pour accueillir un noir et rouge, avec des plantes et des oiseaux en particulier dans le registre inférieur, dans un jeu de perspectives d'expansion. 

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Salon (15)

Probable Hall (oecus) Banquet, est l'un des environnements les plus majestueux et élégant de la villa, décorée avec des fresques et une vue splendide sur la mer, une fois visible et plus proche aujourd'hui.
Le sol en mosaïque en tissu blanc a une bande noire le long des murs et l'insertion des carreaux de marbre polychrome.
Les fresques, belle performance et le chromatisme sobre accentuer l'illusion de l'élargissement de la taille réelle de la pièce.

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Triclinium ( 14)

Cette grande salle à manger et de somptueux lits a confirmé le long des murs sur lesquels nous disposons de manger leur repas, et au centre de la chambre était en désordre: la mosaïque du sol, des stands blanc dans une sorte de vestibule triclinium réel , les murs sont peints dans le style d'autre part, avec des colonnes de prospective, de temples cuspides circulaires, passages à portes fermées, une porte au-delà qui est un jardin, peut-être un sanctuaire.

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Cuisine ( 7)

La salle, presque noir, est pavée en cocciopesto: sur le côté nord, est un grand bureau avec le soutien de plateau, où l'on fait cuire la nourriture, et trois petits arcs former une fente semi-circulaire, conçu pour stocker du bois de chauffage.
Sur le côté est est un réservoir circulaire peut être utilisé pour un liquide décharger sur les parois latérales du Sud avait pour soutenir deux tableaux pour la préparation des aliments. 

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Portici ( 13)
Deux porches symétriques Filet les environnements pour le sud de l 'immeuble.
Le sol a une mosaïque blanche avec des lignes perpendiculaires et bandes latérales de tuiles noires. Le mur est décoré avec des panneaux de type IV (socket bande noire médiane rouge, registre supérieur blanc architectures en perspective et guirlandes).
Les colonnes sont cannelées et décoré de blanc et rouge et blanc échelles. Les murs entre les colonnes sont Opus craticium , De la maçonnerie légère se compose de cadres en bois remplie de blocs de pierre attirés par Malte.

Cubiculum (amb.11)


La cubicula se trouvent les chambres et la villa ont été très bons: sur les côtés de cubiculum représentés ici sont notées niches, avec des voûtes en berceau, où ils étaient logés les lits.
Peintures de style II avec élégance simple et stuc ornent les murs et le plafond. 

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Péristyle ( 32)

Cela présente colonnes du péristyle combinée à une paroi intérieure lisse, dans un lit de grande fleur, il ya une fontaine décorée comme les murs à l'intérieur, un fond rouge avec des plantes et des oiseaux.
Le plancher est en marbre avec cocciopesto inserts. Le plafond est reconstruit avec le soutien de la treille, comme cela a été fait dans les temps anciens.
Sur ce péristyle négligés par les milieux divers, certains d'entre eux pour les domestiques: pour cette raison qu'il a été décrit comme «servile». 

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Péristyle (40)

Un grand portique à trois bras (porticus triplex) Se dit d'un grand espace ouvert, un autre viridarium, Secluded jardin et contraste avec le nord de la villa.
Les colonnes, peintes en blanc, sont lisses sur le fond, rainurés sur la partie supérieure, les murs ornés de fresques sont imputables au style IV.

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Corridor ( 46)

A servi de lien entre le noyau central de la villa et la piscine: cocciopesto pavée dispose de bancs le long du mur de brique et des fenêtres au sommet entre la fresque peinte quatrième style milieux.
Très intéressant plafond, fidèlement reconstruite, divisée en panneaux par les poutres, dans le rappel syntaxe riche figurative décorations similaires dans Domus Aurea Nero à Rome: on peut imaginer à quel point cet environnement à cette époque, dans sa magnificence, introduisent ainsi ceux qui sont rendus à la vue de la grande piscine.

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Corridor ( 46)

A servi de lien entre le noyau central de la villa et la piscine: cocciopesto pavée dispose de bancs le long du mur de brique et des fenêtres au sommet entre la fresque peinte quatrième style milieux.
Très intéressant plafond, fidèlement reconstruite, divisée en panneaux par les poutres, dans le rappel syntaxe riche figurative décorations similaires dans Domus Aurea Nero à Rome: on peut imaginer à quel point cet environnement à cette époque, dans sa magnificence, introduisent ainsi ceux qui sont rendus à la vue de la grande piscine.

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Salon ( 21)

Cette grande salle, probablement une salle pour le déjeuner, les pauses au nord d'arcade de la villa est une sorte de corps avancé vers le jardin.
L ' oecos, construites le long du porche à une construction plus tard le noyau le plus ancien de l'atrium, peut-être dans l'époque d'Auguste, sous la forme de propylon, Avec deux grandes colonnes cannelées et couverte de plâtre blanc. L'espace entre les colonnes ont dû être fermés par des portes.
Le sol en mosaïque de la salle est entièrement réalisé en tissu rayé blanc et noir double sur le côté, avec la présence, dans les espaces entre les colonnes de motifs végétaux stylisés.
Cette solution architecturale, du caractère fortement monumentale, a été adopté dans les villas des quartiers nord de l'Empire et le modèle de Villas otium, Comme le montrent certains des décorations murales.

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Porches ( 33-34)

Les deux porches sur le côté nord de la villa, avec des colonnes enduits de plâtre blanc avec des rainures fines, le long du corps avancés » oecus (amb.21), créant un état grandiose et monumental.
Au pied des colonnes dans la terre, court le ruisseau de l'eau en terre cuite. Le plancher de l'arcade est une mosaïque avec des tuiles blanches avec bande noire sur le côté.
La peinture murale est dans le quatrième style: la zone inférieure est un fond noir décorées avec des oiseaux et des pots de plantes, la zone médiane alternant panneaux de décorations rouges et jaunes et point de vue architectural, la bande supérieure, un fond blanc, a des kiosques et des cloisons décorées avec le cadre.
Dans l'une de ces arcades furent découverts les quatre statues des Centaures et la statuette de l'enfant avec le canard, attendant d'être redéposés ici. 

___________________________________________________

Plan Villa  Lucius Crassius Tertius  Oplontis

VILLA DE LUCIUS CRASSIUS TERTIUS

Découvert par hasard en 1974 alors qu'on travaillait sur la construction du gymnase de l'école intermédiaire Parini, la villa est à environ 300 mètres de la villa de Poppée. Ont été presque entièrement mis en lumière le bâtiment principal et une partie des structures des bâtiments et les rues environnantes. Dans un premier moment on a donné à ce complexe le nom de Villa B par  rapport à la première Villa A dit de Poppée ; elle se trouvée sur une insula inexplorée de la Cité de Oplontis, délimité au Nord par un chemin sur lequel s’ouvrent des boutiques qui ne communiquent pas avec le complexe habitatif, et fourni de pièces d’habitation situes à l’étage supérieur. On croit que l'activité de la villa était principalement destiné à la commercialisation des produits agricoles, et non à leur production. On a retrouvé sur les lieux un sceau sur le quel on crois reconnaître le nom du propriétaire ou le gérant de cette entreprise commerciale prospère, son nom est donc Lucius Tertius Crassius. 

dsdgs<dgsdnws

Le noyau de ce complexe se compose d'un grand espace ouvert avec du gravier et bordé par une imposante colonnade, une double rangée de colonnes d'argile grise avec des chapiteaux doriques, datant du deuxième siècle. Etais ici probablement le lieu de chargement des marchandises destinées à la vente.. Tout autour,de nombreuses salles, permettais le stockage des amphores pour le vin, l’ huile, le garum et des fruits ; d'autres matériaux ont étais retrouvés sur les lieux, tels que les masses d'équilibrage ou de fruits destinés à la transformation et création du Garum, un vin aromatisé de fruits.

dsdgs<dgsdnws

 L'étage supérieur est entièrement occupé par le quartier résidentiel du propriétaire, qui reste assez ordinaires avec des peintures du quatrième style et un exemple schématique de second style appartenant à la première phase de construction. Parmi les nombreuses découvertes, un coffre-fort  en une structure en bois renforcé de plaques de fer et des bandes, orné de cuivre et d'argent et de bronze équipé d'un système complexe de fermeture, avec sur le front, en lettres incrustées d'argent, le nom grec des fabricants : Pythonymos, Pytheas et Nikokrates, actives dans l'atelier d'Héraclide. Dans l'une des chambres du côté sud se trouvaient les squelettes de plusieurs personnes qui avaient cherché refuge au moment de l'éruption, transportant principalement des pièces de monnaie et des bijoux.